SITU

X

What the Papers say

The Alan, Manchester: ‘A truly delightful menu’ – restaurant review

Jay Rayner 1 May 2022, The Guardian

Manchester’s beautiful new hotel The Alan is giving away hundreds of rooms for £1

Daisy Jackson 12 April 2022, The Manc

Six-storey lifestyle hotel The Alan opens in Manchester

Eamon Crowe 21 February 2022, Boutique Hotelier

The Alan, Manchester, hotel review: ‘This revamped warehouse will be a hit with the cool crowd’

Laura Ivill Saturday 28 May 2022, The Times

‘Cool without trying to chase footballers’, The Alan, Princess St, reviewed

Davey Brett 13 June 2022, Manchester Confidential

Suites, Sweets & Meats: A Night at The Alan Hotel

Martin Guttridge 22 July 2022, Manchesters Finest

The Alan in Manchester is a hotel of contrasting ideas

Lottie Gross 4 May 2022, The Caterer

Sustainable and Sublime: The Alan is Producing Home Grown Greatness on Princess Street

Joe Baiamonte 23 May 2022, Eat Mcr
Yvonne T
Yvonne T July 2022
Read More
We stayed three nights at The Alan, from Cornwall, for our daughter's Graduation. What a lovely hotel, we arrived early and our bags were looked after for us while we had a drink in the bar area. The hotel is airy and welcoming and smells amazing. Great room with safe, fridge, complimentary toiletries in bathroom. Comfy bed, soft fluffy towels - in fact everything provided for a comfortable stay. We had breakfast but didn't get round to eating dinner in the restaurant. All the staff, particularly Klara, were friendly, helpful and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation recommending this centrally located hotel. We'll definitely stay at The Alan again on our next visit to Manchester.
ClareMcK
ClareMcK Mar 2022
Read More
What a delight it was to stay at The Alan for my first post-lockdown Business trip. I was welcomed by Klara who was lovely and could not have been more helpful. The room was spacious and had everything I could have needed for my stay. A word about accessibility. The front steps were a challenge for me. As someone who has a mobility issue, trying to clamber the steps at the front door was tricky. But I managed. Maybe something for the management to think about. I dined in the restaurant on both evenings of my stay and the food was a triumph. I was suspicious of the 'Small Plate' concept at first since I was on my own. I have to say I am a convert. Lots of choices for all dietary needs and attention to detail on presentation of the dishes. The Chefs clearly know a thing or two and I have to say all dishes were incredible. My only criticism, if there has to be one, was that I wondered how often the menus changed if I was to be a regular business visitor. My first night's sleep was disrupted by the noisy airco, but the Maintenance chaps managed to tame the beast! In no particular order, the staff was fantastic: Klara, Joel, Vicki, Phoebe, and Xayna. I hope I will visit you again soon. Bravo!
Reviewing fairly
Reviewing fairlyJun 2022
Read More
Everything was absolutely fantastic. Came for a Thursday lunch and from the drinks in the bar, to the food in the restaurant, the service, everything was exceptional. Me and my friend came and we both have multiple dietary requirements and we know we’re a bit of a nightmare for some kitchens but there was absolutely no issue for the kitchen. The service was intentionally staggered, we ordered 5 dishes each and by them leaving time between dishes it allowed us to try each others and really enjoy each dish. The venue is beautiful, it’s brilliant watching the chefs meticulously prepare the food, just an amazing experience. Huge thanks to the team for the best experience, you’ve made new regulars in us! See you soon x
Andrewg
Andrewg25 Jul 2022
Read More
Amazing and stylish hotel Highly recommend the Alan. One of the nicest, friendliest and stylish hotels I've stayed in. The rooms are kitted out with Google home, and amazing interior. I will be coming back here every time I come to Manchester.
edwinaangelljames
edwinaangelljames 25 Jul
Read More
First visit to Manchester looking for accommodation to rent Lovely relaxed hotel , cool and edgy with a friendly vibe. Well run attention to detail. The hotel is situated conveniently for most things and is easily accessible. There is parking in NCP and Q car parks close by. After 3 busy days of exploring the city and its rental accommodation we were happy to return to the ease and tranquility of The Alan. I’ll definitely be back. Air Con in 40 degrees a must ! I was v thankful.
Kelly H
Kelly H 23 Jul
Read More
Perfect!! Perfect stay at The Alan from start to finish, absolutely stunning place. We stayed in a Master room and wow the size of it was unbelievable everything you could ever need was in the room from a Google nest to a clothes steamer. Will definitely be coming back again.
clairebear83z
clairebear83z Jun 2022
Read More
A gem in Manchester We visited this hotel it was only for a one night stay but we had an amazing time All the staff are a credit to the hotel So very helpful and happy to be there We did not eat at the hotel but had plenty of drinks!.. Very reasonably priced!…. We had a twin room on the 6th floor and it was incredible!… Spotlessly clean and had everything we need and only £30 for a late check out!.. All in all a fab night and amazing staff.
ktps2018
ktps2018 Jun 2022
Read More
WOW!!! 👌 Absolutely loved our stay at The Alan. Beautiful, spacious, comfortable room and spotlessly clean. Very chic decoration and super friendly staff. Perfect location, easy access to bars, restaurants, trams and parking. Amazing value for money, will definitely return
DoctorChist
DoctorChistJun 2022
Read More
What a find I had a problem with my room after I had checked in and this was quickly resolved by the exceptional front of house staff. The room was modern, clean and well appointed I dined in the bar and had a selection of their light bites. The flatbread with accompanying pea and Fettle salsa was a joy and the Caesar salad was up there with the best. Special mention to Rosian in the bar who was friendly and attentive and helped out with my choice of dishes. The staff throughout are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a fab central location with lots of parking options nearby. I’d definitely recommend this establishment for anyone visiting central Manchester.
Rachael Abbott
Rachael AbbottApr 2022
Read More
My partner and I decided to go away for the weekend to Manchester but didn't know where to stay. My friend had recommended The Alan Hotel, so we decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed. The hotel is a real hidden gem!! The staff were all incredibly friendly, helpful and polite. The rooms were spacious, modern with an industrial twist giving homage to the history of the building. The bed was very comfortable and the products they provided in the bathroom were gorgeous. The bar is cool but informal and the food was AMAZING!! We had planned to go somewhere else for dinner but when we saw what the chefs were cooking we decided to stay!! It was incredible and a fabulous evening was had by all. We will definitely return.
 craig martin
craig martinMay 2022
Read More
Great modern hotel right in the heart of the city centre. Staff were all super helpful and answered any questions that we had - especially the staff who we had at dinner - professional but with a super relaxed vibe. Food in the restaurant was outstanding - everything was full of flavour. Room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable! We stayed in "the master" - everything you need is in the room - there was a hairdryer and a clothes steamer which was really handy, and a rack with hangers on to hang up any coats/clothes.The google device was also handy for playing music and asking about nearby amenities. Tea and coffee in the room was good quality. The Bathroom was also super spacious and the shower was good pressure! Looking forward to visiting again soon, this will now be one of our go-to hotels when we visit Manchester!
Daniel Allen
Daniel AllenApr 2022
Read More
Location was excellent - right next to St Peter’s Square, Chinatown, gay village, and more. Only a 5 minute walk to the shopping centre and northern quarter. Staff were perfect - Allegra and Ella went above and beyond, gave us lots of advice on where to go, all the other staff were friendly and always said hello. We had an issue with breakfast payment which was resolved immediately (no money even left my card), perfect service. The lobby - perfectly designed, great for quiet meetings or work, great ambiance. One fault is beer seemed to be over priced but on the other hand the food was great and worth the money. Rooms - excellent, we stayed in the Deluxe room and that was worth the money too, no issues with the room and very big, spacious, and clean.
Ray T
Ray TJun 2022
Read More
Stay could not have been made any better 10/10 First time visit & the location to the car park was good. It was our daughters 18th so we arrived early & put the cases in the store room while we fetched balloons & the cake. We asked if they could put the balloons in our daughters room & bring the cake out at 6.30 as we were having pre drinks in the lobby. Everything we asked was no trouble & when we cut the cake they put the cake in their fridge. The Hotel was spotless & rooms a great size, the hand wash smelt amazing! Every single member of staff were polite & helpful, they all seem one big family which made for a friendly feel. The location is brilliant as its quite central to everything with a few Chinese restaurants dotted about plus the City Arms is just around the corner which was a bonus. We didn't eat at The Alan, which was a shame as breakfast looked good but we went to the Wetherspoons 200 yds away. Next time we are in Manchester we will stop here, one thing we wish we had done was go to Society in the daytime as there is a few food places, the bar is Vocation which is superb & it by the canal so the beer garden looks great.
Sam Cressey
Sam CresseyJuly 2022
Read More
Staff are phenomenal. Always helpful, friendly, chatty and in every sense a complete joy to interact with. My first stay here was brilliant, room was clean, a good size, well decorated in a simple but comfortably efficient manner. The bathroom and provided amenities are lovely and the bed is about as comfortable as I’ve had in any hotels (stayed in far too many!) Second stay I had an issue with my fridge closing and locking after the door clip fell off. This was around 8/9pm so I thought it was done for the evening but as I went downstairs to ask for help the hotel manager came over and offered to help,. Called Maintenance and came up to my room to assist, when realising it was broken he took me to the bar, got me a drink and replaced my water from the fridge whilst having a chat about my work, and general life. Fantastic experience and a completely lovely chap. Currently I am writing this review after arriving for my third stay and being greeted by quite possibly the best receptionist I have ever met and have noticed that the Alan has started a corporate rate deal with a drink and light bite included, something I had chatted about with the manager a few weeks earlier. I would without an question recommend the Alan to colleagues, friends and family with all confidence they would have a fantastic stay. Staff 5/5 Room 4.5/5 Comfort 5/5 Food 5/5 Overall 4.75/5
Previous
Next

Join The Alan and book direct. Members receive 12% off bedroom rates.

Also, a complimentary residents drink and light bite Sunday to Thursday, between 5pm and 7pm, 12% off food & beverage during stay, guaranteed late check-out of 2pm, and complimentary upgrade on arrival, availability allowing.

*T&C’s apply.